instagram pinterest linkedin facebook twitter goodreads facebook circle twitter circle linkedin circle instagram circle goodreads circle pinterest circle

Writers and Editors (Pat McNees's blog) RSS feed

PEN Literary Awards offer generous, prestigious honors

February 1 is the deadline for nominations for the fairly lucrative PEN Literary Awards. Each year, with the help of its partners and supporters, PEN confers more than $150,000 to writers in the fields of fiction, science writing, essays, sports writing, biography, children’s literature, translation, drama, or poetry. Full details are here:

PEN's several awards are described below:

The PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay ($10,000) aims to preserve the dignity and esteem that the essay form imparts to literature.

The PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography ($5,000) is awarded for excellence in the art of biography.

The PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award ($10,000) celebrates writing that exemplifies literary excellence on the subject of physical and biological sciences.

PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Literary Sports Writing ($5,000, for a writer whose body of work represents an exceptional contribution to the field)

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize ($25,000) for an outstanding work of debut fiction

PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry ($5,000, for a poet (who has published one book only) whose distinguished and growing body of work represents a notable presence in American literature )

PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship, $5,000 for an author of children's or young adult fiction (who has published at least two novels for children or young adults) to assist at a crucial moment in his or her career to complete a book-length work-in-progress

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction, a biennial prize (awarded in odd-numbered years) of $10,000 will go to the author of a distinguished book of general nonfiction possessing notable literary merit and critical perspective. Biographies, memoirs, and autobiographies are not eligible.

PEN/Steven Kroll Award for Picture Book Writing ($5,000, established in memory of Steven Kroll to acknowledge the distinct literary contributions of picture book writers)

PEN/Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater Award for an American Playwright in Mid-Career and a Master American Dramatist ($7,500)

PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grants $2,000-$4,000)

PEN Translation Prize ($3,000) for a distinguished book-length prose translation published in 2012

PEN Open Book Award ($5,000), formerly the Beyond Margins Awards, invites submissions of book-length writings by authors of color, published in the United States during the current calendar year.

The American PEN awards are separate entities from the English PEN awards.

A letter of support for a literary writer can be sent to PEN American Center, 588 Broadway, Suite 303, New York, NY 10012.
Be the first to comment